Savage Messiah: Ken Russell > Savage Messiah: Ken Russell

BBC DVD

(1/2) > >>

Toner:
Hi there

I'm trying to get a copy of the Ken Russell directed Monitor episode 'Pop Goes the Easel' and wondered if you knew of its existence anywhere. I missed it the other night on BBC 4 and now it doesn't seem to be on BBC i player.  I'm an artist and would like a copy for research.

Any pointers would be very helpful

Toner

Nick Jones:
The BBC America Shop now shows no listing for The Dance of the Seven Veils under "Episodes". No reason for me to buy it now; I've seen, taped, or own everything except for Always on Sunday (no interest, really), The Debussy Film, and, of course, Dance.

http://www.bbcamericashop.com/video/ken-russell-at-the-bbc-14696.html

Iain Fisher:

--- Quote ---Netflix, the US online DVD rental service, shows a disk available with Song of Summer and Dance of the Seven Veils. It also lists 65 ratings for a total of 1.7 stars (out of five). Since this was released just today, I think someone(s) is slagging the disk on Russell's name alone.
--- End quote ---

I've noticed things like this before- strange how some people who know virtually none of Ken's work still slag him off.

Iain Fisher:
Despite the disappointment on Dance of the Seven Veils the good news is that more of Ken's work is on DVD.  My copy of The Debussy Film was a copy of a damaged film, so no sound for the first 10 minutes, and Isadora was in fog.  Looking forward to seeing clean images of them.

regal26:
According to BBC America, Dance of the Seven Veils was pulled just before release due to rights issues (it must have been
just before because there's a still from Dance of the Seven Veils on the cover art!) Of course, they didn't
elaborate just what those rights were. Most likely it's a question of the specific recordings of Strauss used on the soundtrack as
well as the licensing of the music in the first place.